IBM Canada Ltd

Business profile

Service offering

At IBM Bromont, we transform the world's most advanced semiconductors into state-of-the-art microelectronic components that are used in the entire line of IBM systems as well as in a wide range of products produced by our outside customers. Our establishment is IBM's largest flip-chip testing and assembly facility.

Mission

The Bromont plant's mission is to transform the world's most advanced semiconductors into cutting-edge microelectronic solutions. This is the job of teams from several sectors - including interconnection, lab, micro-cabling, flip chips, logic testing, etc. - which have made our achievements possible. The Bromont plant is part of the IBM Systems and Technology Group, and works closely with US plants in East Fishkill, NY, and Burlington, VT, to meet IBM customers' requirements.

Competence

Inaugurated in 1972, the Bromont plant is the largest IBM semiconductor assembly and testing facility in the world. It is also the sole IBM plant in Canada. We assemble 200 types of products using 800 manufacturing processes. A new production batch enters the assembly line every three minutes in this state-of-the-art facility and a new part number is assigned every two hours. Around $700 million worth of products is exported annually.

The Bromont team comprises almost 2,800 people and is recognized for its skill, know-how, and experience. Moreover, our unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction and ability to adapt in a hyper-dynamic and competitive market have made the plant a leader in its sector.

The team specializes in conditioning and testing highly complex products, such as Cell technology used in the most recent Sony PlayStation 3 gaming console or IBM's new, cutting-edge Power 6 processor. We can also perform large-scale product personalization.

Every system manufactured by IBM contains at least one component produced in Bromont. A growing number of non-IBM products incorporate components from Bromont, as our OEM group - which produces components used in other manufacturers' products - has earned an enviable sales record. For example, the three most popular gaming consoles in the world - the Microsoft Xbox 360, the Sony PlayStation 3 and the Nintendo Wii - each contain processors assembled and tested right here in Bromont.


IBM Canada Ltd

23, boulevard de l'Aéroport
Bromont, Québec
Canada, J2L 1A3

450 534-6967

www.ibm.com


Contact person

Louis Labelle

Directeur en chef

450-534-6000

llabelle@ca.ibm.com

Étienne Lemieux

Business Unit Manager

450 534-7757

elemieux@ca.ibm.com

IBM Canada Ltée

Profil de l'entreprise

Offre de service

L’usine IBM transforme les semiconducteurs les plus évolués du monde en composants microélectroniques de pointe. Ces derniers sont par la suite utilisés dans toute la gamme de systèmes IBM, ainsi que dans un grand nombre de produits de nos principaux clients externes. L’usine de Bromont est la plus grande installation d’assemblage et d’essai de puces à protubérances.

Mission

Transformer les puces de semiconducteurs les plus évoluées du monde en solutions microélectroniques de pointe. Des réalisations ont été rendues possibles grâce au travail d’équipes de plusieurs secteurs — interconnexion, laboratoire, microcâblage, puces à protubérances, tests logiques et autres. L’usine de Bromont fait partie du groupe Systèmes et technologie IBM, et collabore étroitement avec les usines étasuniennes d’East Fishkill (New York) et de Burlington (Vermont) pour répondre aux exigences des clients d’IBM.

Compétences

L’équipe bromontoise, qui compte plus de 2 800 personnes, est réputée pour ses compétences, son savoir-faire et son expérience. C’est d’ailleurs grâce à son engagement indéfectible à l’égard de la satisfaction de la clientèle et à sa grande adaptabilité dans un marché hyperdynamique et très concurrentiel que l’usine est maintenant un chef de file dans son secteur. Inaugurée en 1972, l’usine de Bromont est la plus grande installation d’assemblage et d’essai de semiconducteurs d’IBM dans le monde, et la seule usine d’IBM au Canada.

On assemble 200 types de produits faisant appel à 800 procédés de fabrication. Dans cet établissement de pointe, un nouveau lot de production entre en chaîne d’assemblage toutes les trois minutes, et un nouveau numéro de pièce est attribué toutes les deux heures. Chaque année, l’usine exporte pour environ 700 millions de dollars de produits.

De plus, l’équipe se spécialise dans le conditionnement et l’essai de produits très complexes comme la technologie Cell, utilisée dans la plus récente console de jeu Playstation 3 de Sony ou le nouveau microprocesseur de pointe Power 6 d’IBM. L’usine est également en mesure de personnaliser des produits à grande échelle.

Ainsi, chaque système fabriqué par IBM contient au moins un composant provenant de Bromont. En outre, un nombre croissant de produits non IBM intègre des composants fabriqués à Bromont où le groupe OEM — qui met au point des composants utilisés dans des produits d’autres fabricants — affiche un chiffre d’affaires très enviable. À titre d’exemple, les trois consoles de jeu les plus populaires du monde — la XBox 360 de Microsoft, la Playstation 3 de Sony et la Wii de Nintendo — ont dans leur boîtier des processeurs assemblés et testés à Bromont.


IBM Canada Ltée

23, boulevard de l'Aéroport
Bromont, Québec
Canada, J2L 1A3

450 534-6967

www.ibm.com


Personne ressource

Louis Labelle

Directeur en chef

450-534-6000

llabelle@ca.ibm.com

Étienne Lemieux

Directeur d'unité d'affaire

450 534-7757

elemieux@ca.ibm.com