Optiwave Systems Inc.

Partner category :

Commercialization partner | Photonic |

Business profile

Service offering

Optiwave’s cutting-edge photonic design automation software and customized engineering design services propose  its customers a distinct competitive advantage, by massively shortening their time to market while dramatically improving quality, productivity and cost-effectiveness.  Since its inception in 1994, Optiwave’s software has been licensed to more than 1000 industry-leading corporations and universities in over 70 countries worldwide.

Mission

To provide cutting-edge, high quality design automation software for the entire spectrum of the photonics industry, from nano-components through to optical components, systems and complete optical network design.

Competence

Optiwave is the emerging leader in the development of innovative software tools for the design, simulation, and optimization of components, links, systems and networks for the dynamically growing fields in photonics nanotechnology, optoelectronics, optical networks and other photonic applications.

Technologies and processes

OptiSystem: In an industry where cost effectiveness and productivity are imperative for success, the award winning OptiSystem can minimize time requirements and decrease cost related to the design of optical systems, links, and components. OptiSystem is an innovative, rapidly evolving, and powerful software design tool that enables users to plan, test, and simulate almost every type of optical link in the transmission layer of a broad spectrum of optical networks from LAN, SAN, MAN to ultra-long-haul. It offers transmission layer optical communication system design and planning from component to system level, and visually presents analysis and scenarios.

OptiSPICE: Allows for the design and simulation of opto-electronic circuits at the transistor level, from laser drivers to transimpedance amplifiers, optical interconnects and electronic equalizers. With the imminent coexistence of electrical and optical components at the chip and board level, it is important to provide designers with a reliable simulation framework that can accurately and efficiently predict signal behaviour in opto-electronic integrated circuits and boards. OptiSPICE produces self-consistent solutions of opto-electronic circuits that contain feedback spanning both optical and electrical parts. OptiSPICE is a fully-integrated solution for parameter extraction, schematic capture, circuit simulation and waveform analysis.

OptiFDTD: Enables you to design, analyze and test modern passive and nonlinear photonic components for wave propagation, scattering, reflection, diffraction, polarization and nonlinear phenomena. The core program of OptiFDTD is based on the finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) algorithm with second-order numerical accuracy and the most advanced boundary condition – uniaxial perfectly matched layer (UPML) boundary condition. The algorithm solves both electric and magnetic fields in temporal and spatial domains using the full-vector differential form of Maxwell’s coupled curl equations. This allows for arbitrary model geometries and places no restriction on the material properties of the devices. OptiFDTD dramatically improves productivity of design engineers by reducing time-to-market.

OptiBPM: A computer-aided design software tool enabling design of complex optical waveguides, which perform guiding, coupling, switching, splitting, multiplexing, and demultiplexing of optical signals in photonic devices. OptiBPM is based on the Beam Propagation Method (BPM) of simulating the passage of light through any waveguide medium, both isotropic and anisotropic. With OptiBPM you can observe the near field distribution and examine the radiation and guided field, simultaneously. OptiBPM can improve a design engineer’s productivity, reduce risk, and lower overall costs related to design of waveguide devices.

OptiFiber: The optimal design of a given optical communication system depends directly on the choice of fiber parameters. Dimensions of the fiber cross-section, material composition, and refractive index profile all influence important linear and non-linear phenomena. OptiFiber uses numerical mode solvers and other models specialized to fibers for calculating dispersion, losses, birefringence, and PMD.

OptiGrating: Emerging as a de facto standard over the last decade, OptiGrating has delivered powerful and user friendly design software for modeling integrated and fiber optic devices that incorporate optical gratings. OptiGrating uses the Coupled Mode Theory to model the light and enable analysis and synthesis of gratings. A complex grating is approximated by a sequence of uniform segments, and analyzed by connecting the segments with the well-known Transfer Matrix Method. This gives the designer the information needed to test and optimize grating designs.


Optiwave Systems Inc.

7 Capella Court
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K2E 8A7

613 224-4700

optiwave.com


Contact person

Jan Jakubczyk

President & CEO

613 224-4700

jan.jakubczyk@optiwave.com

Optiwave Systems Inc.

Catégorie de partenaire :

Partenaire à la commercialisation | Photonique |

Profil de l'entreprise

Offre de service

Le logiciel d’automatisation de conception photonique de pointe d’Optiwave ainsi que ses services de conception technique personnalisée offrent à ses clients des avantages concurrentiels permettant de réduire considérablement le temps de commercialisation tout en améliorant la qualité, la productivité et la rentabilité. Depuis sa création en 1994, le logiciel d’Optiwave a été distribué sous licence à plus de 1000 entreprises et universités dans plus de 70 pays dans le monde.

Mission

Fournir des logiciels d’automatisation de conception de pointe, de hautes qualités pour l’ensemble du spectre de l’industrie de la photonique, des nano composantes jusqu’aux composantes optiques et de la conception des systèmes et des réseaux optiques.

Compétences

Optiwave est un leader émergent dans le développement de logiciels innovants pour la conception, la simulation et l’optimisation de composants, de liaisons, de systèmes et de réseaux pour les domaines des nanotechnologies photoniques, de l’optoélectronique, des réseaux optiques et d’autres applications photoniques.

Technologies et procédés

OptiSystem : Dans une industrie où la rentabilité et la productivité sont essentielles au succès, OptiSystem permet de minimiser les contraintes de temps et de réduire les coûts liés à la conception des systèmes optiques, des liaisons et des composantes. OptiSystem est un outil de conception de logiciels innovant, évolutif et puissant. Il permet aux utilisateurs de planifier, de vérifier et de simuler presque tous les types de liaisons optiques dans la couche de transmission d’un large éventail de réseaux optiques : LAN, SAN, MAN aux portées ultra-longues. Il offre une conception des couches de transmission de communication optique et une planification des composantes jusqu’au niveau du système, et présente visuellement l’analyse et les scénarios.

OptiSPICE : Le logiciel OptiSPICE permet la conception et la simulation de circuits optoélectroniques au niveau de transistors, de pilotes laser aux amplificateurs de transimpédance, d’interconnexions optiques et d‘égaliseurs électroniques. Avec la coexistence imminente des composantes électriques et optiques dans les cartes et les puces électroniques, il est important de fournir aux concepteurs un cadre de simulation fiable qui est capable de prédire, avec précision et efficacité, le comportement des signaux dans les circuits intégrés et les cartes optoélectroniques. OptiSPICE produit des solutions auto cohérentes de circuits optoélectroniques qui contiennent des informations couvrant à la fois des parties optiques et électriques. OptiSPICE est une solution entièrement intégrée pour l’extraction de paramètres, la capture de schémas, la simulation de circuits et l’analyse de formes d’ondes.

OptiFDTD : Le logiciel OptiFDTD permet de concevoir, d’analyser et de tester des composants photoniques passifs et non linéaires modernes pour la propagation, la diffusion, la réflexion, la diffraction, la polarisation et les phénomènes non linéaires relatifs aux ondes. Le programme de base d’OptiFDTD repose sur l’algorithme FDTD (Finite-Differential Time-Domain). L’algorithme a une précision numérique de second ordre et la condition aux limites la plus avancée — condition de limite de couche parfaitement uniaxiale (UPML). L’algorithme résout à la fois les champs électriques et magnétiques dans les domaines temporels et spatiaux en utilisant la forme différentielle vectorielle complète des équations de courbure couplées de Maxwell. Cela permet des géométries de modèles arbitraires et n’impose aucune restriction sur les propriétés matérielles des périphériques. OptiFDTD améliore considérablement la productivité des ingénieurs de conception en réduisant les délais de mise sur le marché.

OptiBPM : Un logiciel de conception assistée par ordinateur permettant la conception de guides d’ondes optiques complexes, qui effectuent le guidage, le couplage, la commutation, la division, le multiplexage et le démultiplexage de signaux optiques dans des dispositifs photoniques. OptiBPM repose sur la méthode de propagation de faisceau (BPM) qui simule le passage de la lumière à travers n’importe quel milieu de guide d’onde, à la fois isotrope et anisotrope. Avec OptiBPM, vous pouvez observer la distribution du champ proche et examiner simultanément le rayonnement et le champ guidé. OptiBPM peut améliorer la productivité d’un ingénieur-concepteur, réduire les risques et les coûts globaux liés à la conception de dispositifs à guide d’ondes.

OptiFiber : La conception optimale d’un système de communication optique dépend directement du choix des paramètres de la fibre. Les dimensions de la section transversale de la fibre, la composition du matériau et le profil de l’indice de réfraction influencent tous les phénomènes importants linéaires et non linéaires. OptiFiber utilise des solveurs en mode numérique et d’autres modèles spécialisés dans les fibres pour calculer la dispersion, les pertes, la biréfringence et la PMD.

OptiGrating : Émergeant comme un standard de facto au cours de la dernière décennie, OptiGrating est un logiciel de conception puissant et convivial permettant de modéliser des dispositifs intégrés et des dispositifs à fibre optique qui s’intègrent à des réseaux optiques. OptiGrating utilise la théorie du mode couplé pour modéliser la lumière et permettre l’analyse et la synthèse des réseaux. Un réseau complexe est proposé par séquence de segments uniformes, et est analysé en reliant les segments avec la méthode de matrice de transfert bien connue. Cela donne au concepteur les informations nécessaires pour tester et optimiser les réseaux de conception.


Optiwave Systems Inc.

7 Capella Court
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K2E 8A7

613 224-4700

optiwave.com


Personne ressource

Jan Jakubczyk

President & CEO

613 224-4700

jan.jakubczyk@optiwave.com