info@c2mi.ca 1 450 534-8000

IBM: Photonics Technology Development

PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY DEVELOPMENT

Development of automated assembly processes to support the high-volume deployment of optoelectronic components that take advantage of new photonic technologies.

TECHNOLOGICAL CHALLENGE

  • Development of assembly solutions on automated tools in a manufacturing field (optoelectronics) where assembly approaches are historically very manual. Our assembly solutions use either compliant polymer ribbons or fiber ribbon arrays.
  • Yield improvement for optical photons chips interconnection assembly processes.
  • Evaluation of the reliability of compliant polymer ribbons or fiber ribbon arrays.
  • Development, with a partner collaboration, of the ferrule to polymer interconnect.
  • Development of automated and high-precision assembly process of optoelectronic chips and lenses on substrate with waveguides.

DEVELOPED SOLUTION

  • An optical interconnection using a ferrule on a polymeric ribbon (developed with a partner) is assembled onto a photonic chip using self-aligning structures with an adhesive selected for its optical and mechanical properties. The integrity of the components, the adhesive and the final assembly were tested under the operating conditions (temperature and humidity) of this type of application.
  • In the case of the fiber interconnection, a modification to the assembly equipment now makes it possible to use only commercially available source components which allows a better yield and a lower cost. The improvement of the control of the parallelism during the assembly made it possible to improve the repeatability of the process.
  • Thermocompression and assembly processes with UV curing have been developed for the assembly of integrated components on substrates with waveguides.

Illustration of the fastener of a connection of polymeric type on a semiconductor structure.

Illustration of the attachment of a lens to an organic substrate with an integrated polymeric waveguide.

Illustration of the attachment of a conventional fiber optic connection to a semiconductor structure.

GOALS

  • Polymeric ribbons: good progress thanks to the new interconnection with the ferrule and the selection of an appropriate adhesive. The optical performance of the assembled elements does not yet meet the target. The reliability of the assembly must be confirmed on a larger sampling. Development work is pursued.
  • Fiber bands: improved processes, however, the automation of the assembly, the reliability performance of the adhesives used and the optical performance must be improved. Development work continues.
  • Assembly of integrated components on substrates with waveguides: preliminary development of processes and equipment completed. Waiting for more components to complete the development and to carry out the reliability tests.

IMPACTS OF THE PROJECTS: FINANCED PROJECT - YEAR 2016-2017

THIS PROJECT IS AN ACTIVE COLLABORATION BETWEEN

NEWS

No news available

Back to projects list >

IBM: Photonics Technology Development

PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY DEVELOPMENT

Développement de procédés d’assemblage automatisés pour aider le déploiement à haut volumes de composantes optoélectroniques qui prennent avantage de nouvelles technologies photoniques.

DÉFI TECHNOLOGIQUE

  • Développement de solutions d’assemblage sur des outils automatisés dans un domaine de fabrication (optoélectronique) où les approches d’assemblage sont historiquement très manuelles. Nos solutions d’assemblage utilisent soit des rubans polymériques ou des rubans de fibres.
  • Amélioration de rendement pour les procédés d’assemblage d’interconnexions optiques au chip photonique.
  • Évaluation de la fiabilité des procédés à rubans polymériques et à rubans de fibres.
  • Développement, avec un partenaire, d’interconnexions ferrules à polymère.
  • Développement de procédés d’assemblage automatisés et à haute précision de chips optoélectroniques et lentilles sur substrat avec guides d’ondes.

SOLUTION DÉVELOPPÉE

  • Une interconnexion optique qui utilise une ferrule sur un ruban polymérique (développée avec un partenaire) est assemblée à un chip photonique utilisant des structures d’auto-alignement par un adhésif sélectionné pour ses propriétés à la fois optiques et mécaniques. L’intégrité des composantes, de l’adhésif et de l’assemblage final a été testé aux conditions d’opération (température et humidité) de ce type d’application.
  • Dans le cas de l’attache de fibres, une modification aux équipements d’assemblage permet maintenant d’utiliser que des composantes-sources disponibles commercialement ce qui permet un meilleur rendement et un coût réduit. L’amélioration du contrôle du parallélisme lors de l’assemblage a permis d’améliorer la répétabilité du procédé.
  • Des procédés de thermocompression et d’assemblage avec cuisson UV ont été développé pour l’assemblage de composantes intégrées sur substrats avec guides d’ondes.

Illustration de l’attache d’une connection de type polymérique sur une structure de semi-conducteur.

Illustration de l’attache d’une lentille sur un substrat organique avec guide d’onde polymérique intégré.

Illustration de l’attache d’une connection classique de type fibre optique sur une structure de semi-conducteur.

OBJECTIFS

  • Rubans polymériques: bonne progression grâce à la nouvelle interconnexion avec ferrule et la sélection d’un adhésif adéquat. La performance optique des éléments assemblés ne rencontre pas encore la cible. La fiabilité des assemblages doit être confirmée sur un plus grand échantillonnage. Le travail de développement se poursuit.
  • Rubans de fibres: procédé amélioré cependant l’automatisation de l’assemblage, la performance en fiabilité des adhésifs utilisés et les performances optiques doivent être améliorées. Le travail de développement continue.
  • Assemblage de composantes intégrées sur substrats avec guides d’ondes: développement préliminaire des procédés et équipements complété. En attente de plus de composantes pour terminer le développement et pour réaliser les tests de fiabilité.

IMPACTS DU PROJET: PROJET FINANCÉ - EXERCICE 2016-2017

CE PROJET REPOSE SUR UNE COLLABORATION ACTIVE

ACTUALITÉS

Aucune actualité disponible

Retour à la liste des projets >