info@c2mi.ca 1 450 534-8000

Teslonix: IoT SmartKickTM

TESLONIX IoT SmartKick

A groundbreaking IoT system delivering affordable and scalable item-level intelligence using current RAIN RFID tags and sensors.

TECHNOLOGICAL CHALLENGE

Until recently, the physical infrastructure and processes required to capture and deliver item intelligence from large areas have been nonexistent or labour intensive. As an example, retail companies resorted to infrequent and labour intensive manual item counts and realized only 40% to 65% accuracy levels. This resulted in:

  • Increased item (inventory) carrying costs;
  • Reduced sales from not locating items;
  • Lower sales margins from increased markdowns and shrinkage; and
  • Higher operational costs from manual item (inventory) counts and overall inefficiencies.

With the advent of the UHF RFID technology, branded as RAIN RFID, businesses can improve their operational performance through the use of RFID enabled systems. However, most of these solutions rely on handheld RFID scanners (readers) and fixed perimeter portals. These products provide only a snapshot of information, still require significant labour and cannot address the omnichannel problems facing retailers today. Some of the existing fixed overhead RFID reader products have short range, limited accuracy, high installation costs and are not economically viable.

DEVELOPED SOLUTION

Addressing the challenge businesses face in streamlining their inventory management and operations processes, Teslonix delivers a groundbreaking solution that enables item-level intelligence on a level and scale not possible with current technology. Incorporating several key innovations, the Teslonix system delivers total area coverage with significantly reduced infrastructure requirements compared to other technologies.

The Teslonix solution is a standard based fixed infrastructure stationary UHF RFID scanner/reader system that is fully compatible with any EPC Gen2 compliant RAIN RFID tag. The system is designed to plug into any enterprise application with minimal configuration by a system integrator, making it an attractive and easy to use component in RFID solutions. Working with low cost RAIN RFID tags allows for affordable inventory management all while improving performance and improved inventory accuracy.

GOALS

  • Develop an indirect distribution channel comprising application specific system integrators to incorporate our readers as an important part of a broader fully functioning RFID system comprising end-points (RFID tags and sensors), gateways and end-user software (MRP/ERP systems)
  • License our reference design to value added resellers to manufacture readers specific for the physical characteristics/ operating environments of certain applications
  • Outsource the complete manufacturing and logistics of our readers to a contract manufacturer, thereby relieving us of low cost high quality manufacturing and inventory management
  • License our IP to chip companies to incorporate our IP into their reader chips to dramatically reduce the cost of readers in the future
  • Concentrate on the technology of our product by adding real time location service and consumer/ customer facing applications for the applications our readers address.

IMPACTS OF THE PROJECT 2016-2017

THIS PROJECT IS AN ACTIVE COLLABORATION BETWEEN

Teslonix is working with key industry players and academic institutions in order to develop and deliver a system with unparalleled performance and capabilities.

NEWS

No news available

Back to projects list >

Teslonix: IoT SmartKickTM

TESLONIX IoT SmartKick

Un système IoT révolutionnaire fournissant une forme d’intelligence des objets abordable et évolutive en utilisant les étiquettes et les capteurs RAIN RFID actuels

DÉFI TECHNOLOGIQUE

Jusqu’à récemment, les infrastructures et les processus de capture et de suivi d’inventaires destinés aux commerces et organisations grandes surfaces étaient inexistants ou nécessitaient beaucoup de travail. En effet, les compagnies de commerce de détail ont recours à des prises d’inventaires manuels qui au final offrent des rendements de précision de seulement 40 % à 65 %. Cela a des répercussions sur :

  • Augmentation des coûts de transport des articles (inventaire);
  • Réduction des ventes en raison d’articles non répertoriés;
  • Réduction de la marge de profit par la baisse des prix et diminution des quantités; et
  • Des coûts d’exploitation plus élevés en raison de la réalisation d’inventaires manuels qui de surcroit s’avèrent moins efficaces.

Avec l’arrivée de la technologie RFID UHF, sous le nom commercial RAIN RFID, les entreprises peuvent améliorer leur performance opérationnelle en utilisant des systèmes activés par la technologie RFID. Cependant, la plupart des solutions proposées reposent sur des scanneurs RFID portables (lecteurs) et des portails périmétriques fixes. Ces produits ne fournissent qu’une lecture ponctuelle de l’information. Par conséquent, le fonctionnement de l’entreprise nécessite encore une main-d’œuvre importante.

SOLUTION DÉVELOPPÉE

Répondant aux défis rencontrés par les entreprises dans l’optimisation des processus de gestion et d’exploitation des inventaires, Teslonix offre une solution révolutionnaire qui permet de documenter à l’aide de l’internet des objets sur un niveau et une échelle impossible avec la technologie actuelle. En incorporant plusieurs innovations clés, le système de Teslonix offre une couverture totale de la zone avec des exigences en infrastructure considérablement réduites.

La solution de Teslonix offre un système de lecteur RFID UHF stationnaire, entièrement compatible avec toute étiquette RFID RAIN conforme EPC Gen2. Le système est conçu pour se connecter à toute application d’entreprise avec une configuration minimale, ce qui en fait un composant attrayant et facile à utiliser. Travailler avec des étiquettes RFID RAIN à faible coût permet une gestion d’inventaire abordable tout en améliorant les performances et la précision de l’inventaire.

OBJECTIFS

  • Développer un canal de distribution indirect comprenant des intégrateurs de systèmes spécifiques à l’application pour intégrer nos lecteurs comme une partie importante d’un système RFID pleinement fonctionnel comprenant des points d’extrémité (étiquettes et capteurs RFID), des passerelles et un logiciel d’utilisateur final (systèmes MRP /ERP)
  • Autoriser notre conception de référence aux revendeurs à valeur ajoutée pour fabriquer des lecteurs spécifiques aux caractéristiques physiques et aux environnements d’exploitation
  • Externaliser la fabrication complète des lecteurs à un fabricant pour aider les entreprises de fabrication dans la gestion optimale des inventaires à moindres coûts.
  • Autoriser l’intégration de notre Propriété intellectuelle dans les puces de lecteurs afin de réduire considérablement les coûts
  • Développer la technologie de notre produit en ajoutant un service de localisation en temps réel et des applications client sur nos lecteurs

IMPACTS DU PROJET: PROJET FINANCÉ - EXERCICE 2016-2017

CE PROJET REPOSE SUR UNE COLLABORATION ACTIVE

Teslonix travaille avec des joueurs clés de l’industrie et des institutions académiques afin de développer et de livrer un système performant avec des capacités inégalées.

ACTUALITÉS

Aucune actualité disponible

Retour à la liste des projets >