Sylvain Charbonneau

Sylvain Charbonneau

Administrator

Associate Vice-President, Research, University of Ottawa


In April 2013, Mr. Charbonneau took the position of Associate Vice-President, Research at the University of Ottawa. In a highly decentralized environment involving multiple participants, the OVPR provides leadership and expertise for the University-wide strategic policy, direction and operation of its services in support of its research activities. This includes leading and coordinating different autonomous functional teams, at both central and Faculty levels, to assure a consistent and responsive organization.

Mr. Charbonneau received his B. Sc. And M.Sc. in Physics from the University of Ottawa and his Ph.D. degree in Photonics – Semiconductor Physics from Simon Fraser University, British Columbia in 1988. He joined the Institute for Microstructural Sciences of the National Research Council (NRC) in October 1988.

For a period of 10 years, he was involved in a number of research activities within the institute and led such development programs as wavelength routing and switching for optical fibre communication systems and more exploratory research efforts in the field nano-photonics. He has published over 180 papers and has seventeen patents granted or pending the field of photonics, nanotechnology and ICT.

info@c2mi.ca 1 450 534-8000

Sylvain Charbonneau

Sylvain Charbonneau

Administrateur

Vice-recteur associé à la recherche à l’Université d’Ottawa


M. Sylvain Charbonneau est le vice-recteur associé à la recherche à l’Université d’Ottawa depuis avril 2013. Dans un environnement très décentralisé mettant à contribution de multiples intervenants, il offre leadership et expertise dans l’ensemble de l’Université pour ce qui est de la politique stratégique, de l’orientation et de la prestation des services mis en place à l’appui des activités de recherche. Afin d’assurer la cohérence et la réactivité de l’organisation, il dirige et coordonne diverses équipes fonctionnelles autonomes œuvrant dans les facultés ou au sein de l’administration centrale.

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat et d’une maîtrise en physique de l’Université d’Ottawa, Sylvain Charbonneau obtient en 1988 un doctorat en photonique-physique des semi-conducteurs de l’Université Simon Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. En octobre 1988, il entre à l’Institut des sciences des microstructures du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (ISM-CNRC).

Pendant 10 ans à l’ISM-CNRC, il participe à plusieurs projets de recherche et dirige des programmes de développement, tels que celui sur le routage et la commutation en longueur d’onde pour des systèmes de télécommunication par fibre optique, ainsi que d’autres recherches exploratoires en nanophotonique. Auteur de plus de 180 articles, il cumule 17 brevets accordés ou en attente dans les domaines de la photonique, des nanotechnologies et des technologies de l’information et des communications.